My Own Motivational Monologue

Comfort Zone Quote

“Great things never came from comfort zones”

This quote is going to get me through this semester as motivation is something that I am completely lacking. Third year struggles are real! I never believed it, but now it is starting to kick in hard.

This between stage is by far the most terrible. Graduation is in sight but being free seems so far away. On top of that are those dreaded deadlines; they are close enough to be terrifying but far enough away to not offer enough motivation to be working every hour of every day. My final semester of my undergraduate begins tomorrow and that is what is so scary. Two dissertations are again put on the back-burner in order to keep up with the other semester’s modules that also have to be completed and I know I am not the only one feeling this way. All students get to this stage.

This is why I am writing this blog post. I’m hoping not to hit a wall or a writing block, but that is inevitably going to happen at some point (probably when I least need it to happen). However, my blog helps me to focus on something else and reduces the stress from the situation. It is my little space where I can get my feelings out and it really does help in breaking down that wall.

A good friend of my once helped me out when I was having a dissertation breakdown (one of many). She said that we are so focused on the larger, singular goal that we forget that we need to focus on all the smaller goals and steps that will get us to the finish line. This is crucial when offered with, what feels like, a gigantic task ahead.

Whether people read this blog or not, I hope to relax just one student when they are thinking of packing it all in and threatening failure. Remember, this is a DEGREE! Yes, it was going to be hard work, but take it one stage at a time. We are only human. If it was too easy then it wouldn’t be character building, and it certainly won’t feel as much of an achievement on that graduation day in July.

Chin up and march forward.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

